top of page


Humility--- The moral virtue that keeps a person from reaching beyond himself. It is the virtue that restrains the unruly desire for personal greatness and leads people to an orderly love of themselves based on a true appreciation of their position with respect to God and their neighbors. Religious humility recognizes one's total dependence on God; moral humility recognizes one's creaturely equality with others. Yet humility is not only opposed to pride; it is also opposed to immoderate self-abjection, which would fail to recognize God's gifts and use them according to His will.

Mercy---- The disposition to be kind and forgiving. Founded on compassion, mercy differs from compassion or the feeling of sympathy in putting this feeling into practice with a readiness to assist. It is therefore the ready willingness to help anyone in need, especially in need of pardon or reconciliation.

Mourning--- Often comes with intense agony that is spiritual, psychological, or even physical. Mourning is not only related to death, it is also an essential aspect of the spiritual life. Suffering, pain, and afflictions are part of the human condition. We must learn to mourn our sins, see the horror of them, realize how weak we really are, and that we are completely dependent upon God. Because Christ's Passion, Death and Resurrection destroyed sin and death, we now have the hope of coming face to face with Christ in the Beatific Vision because we know Christ opened the gates of Heaven for us.

Meekness--- The virtue that moderates anger and its disorderly affects. It is a form of temperance that controls every inordinate movement of resentment at another person's character or behavior.

Hunger and Thirst for Righteousness--- Restlessness and longing are universal traits of the human heart. God has placed in the heart of every person the desire to be in heaven with Him. St. Augustine said, 'Our hearts are restless, Lord, until we rest in Thee.' Righteousness is a God-given attribute that implies that our actions are justified. It can mean explicitly that we have been judged as leading a life that is pleasing to God.

Purity of Heart--- keeping careful watch over the thoughts being presented to our mind, and the affections and passions being presented to our hearts. This careful watch causes us to immediately rid our minds of anything that violates purity of heart. For example, suppressing any thoughts of gossip. Or, to replace thoughts of ill-will with charity and forgiveness. It is a careful introspection to live charitably as Christ would live.

Being persecuted--- Persecution is the effort by civil authorities to suppress or impede the Church's liberty by physical or psychological means. From the first days after Pentecost the Church has been persecuted. Christ foretold that His followers would be persecuted. At the Last Supper He said, 'If they persecuted Me, they will persecute you too' (Jn 15:20)

battle for souls.jpg

Corresponding Vices

--- Sins against God's love ---

battle for souls.jpg

Pride--- the deadliest of the sins, pride is an inordinate esteem of oneself, inordinate because it is contrary to the truth. It is an act or disposition of the will desiring to be considered better than a person really is. Here are some examples of pride: 1) taking personal credit for gifts or possessions, as if they had not been received from God. 2) glorifying in achievements, as if they were not primarily the result of divine goodness and grace; 3) minimizing one's defects or claiming qualities that are not actually possessed; 4) holding oneself superior to others or disdaining them because they lack what the proud person has; 5) magnifying the defects of others or dwelling on them. Pride is a grave sin when it rises to the level of a person being unwilling to acknowledge dependence upon God and refuses to submit his or her will to God or to lawful authority. The gravity arises from the fact that a person shows contempt for God or for those who take His place. Otherwise pride is said to be imperfect and venially wrong.

Not all sins are pride, however it can lead to many other sins, notably presumption, ambition, vainglory, boasting, hypocrisy, strife and disobedience. Pride strives for perverse excellence. It despises others and, depending on its perversity, even looks down upon God. 

Avarice (Greed)--- an excessive or insatiable desire for money or material things. In its strict sense, avarice is the inordinate holding on to possessions or riches instead of using these material things for some worthwhile purpose. Reluctance to let go of what a person owns.

Of itself, avarice is venially sinful, but it may become mortal when a person is ready to use gravely unlawful means to acquire or hold on to his possessions or when, because of his cupidity (greed for money or possessions) he seriously violates his duty of justice and charity.

Envy--- sadness or discontent at the excellence, good fortune, or success of another person. It implies that one considers oneself somehow deprived by what one envies in another or even that an injustice has been done. Essential to envy is the sense of deprivation. Consequently it is not merely sadness that someone else has some desirable talent or possession, nor certainly the ambition to equal or surpass another person, which can be laudable emulation. Envy is not the same as jealousy, which is an unwillingness to share one's own possessions.

Envy is a sin against charity, with degrees of gravity, the most serious being sadness at the supernatural gifts or graces another has received from God.

Anger (Wrath)--- anger is a desire for revenge. To desire vengeance in order to do evil to someone should be punished is illicit', but it is praiseworthy to impose restitution 'to correct vices and maintain justice.' If anger reaches the point of a deliberate desire to kill or seriously wound a neighbor it is gravely against charity; it is a mortal sin. The Lord says, 'Everyone who is angry with his brother brother shall be liable to judgement.'

Sloth (Acedia)--- acedia or spiritual sloth goes so far as to refuse the joy that comes from God and to be repelled by divine goodness.

Lust--- a disordered desire for or inordinate enjoyment of sexual pleasure. Sexual pleasure is morally disordered when sought for itself, when it does not conform to the divinely ordained purpose of sexual pleasure, which is to foster the mutual love of husband and wife and, according to the dispositions of providence, to procreate and educate their children.

Gluttony--- inordinate desire for the pleasure connected with food or drink. This desire may become sinful in various ways: by eating or drinking far more thn a person needs to maintain bodily strength; by glutting one's taste for certain kinds of food with known detriments to health; by indulging the appetite for exquisite food or dring, especially when these are beyond one's ability to afford a luxurious diet; by eating or drinking too avidly, ie., ravenously; by consuming alcoholic beverages to the point of losing full control of one's reasoning powers. Intoxication that ends in complete loss of reason is a mortal sin if brought on without justification, eg. for medical reasons.

bottom of page